Southeast Crescent Regional Commission

The Southeast Crescent Regional Commission (SCRC) is an economic development partnership agency of the federal government and seven state governments' of Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Virginia. The SCRC’s mission is to build sustainable communities and strengthen economic growth across the Southeast Crescent region.

The SCRC was established by the US Congress in the Food, Conservation, and Energy Act of 2008 (The Farm Bill) to address economic and quality of life issues in the 428 counties within the seven-state region.

The SCRC supports economic development activities in 69 North Carolina counties: Alamance, Anson, Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Cabarrus, Camden, Carteret, Caswell, Chatham, Chowan, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Currituck, Dare, Davidson, Duplin, Durham, Edgecombe, Franklin, Gaston, Gates, Granville, Greene, Guilford, Halifax, Harnett, Hertford, Hoke, Hyde, Iredell, Johnston, Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Lincoln, Martin, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Moore, Nash, New Hanover, Northampton, Onslow, Orange, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Person, Pitt, Randolph, Richmond, Robeson, Rockingham, Rowan, Sampson, Scotland, Stanly, Tyrrell, Union, Vance, Wake, Warren, Washington, Wayne, and Wilson.

Map of the state of North Carolina depicting the 69 counties that are within the Southeast Crescent Regional Commission.
Tab/Accordion Items

Each year SCRC provides funding for projects throughout the Southeast Crescent Region of North Carolina. Projects approved for SCRC assistance must support one of the six general goals.

Goal 1: Invest in Critical Infrastructure
Objective 1.1 – Expand the region’s basic water and sewer infrastructure to be more resilient.
Objective 1.2 – Expand and improve access to affordable and reliable digital infrastructure (e.g., broadband, cellular).
Objective 1.3 – Support expanded regional transportation infrastructure systems and transit services.

Goal 2: Improve Health and Support Services Access and Outcomes
Objective 2.1– Support initiatives that expand access to affordable, high-quality healthcare and services that support overall mental and physical health.
Objective 2.2– Provide support to build capacity for navigating and accessing support services.

Goal 3: Strengthen Workforce Capacity
Objective 3.1– Promote workforce development programs (e.g., apprenticeships, internships, on the job training, programs at technical and community colleges) for local high-demand job opportunities (e.g., plumbers, electricians, etc.).
Objective 3.2– Increase enrollment in and completion of critical training programs by investing in wrap-around services.

Goal 4: Foster Entrepreneurial and Business Development Activities Objectives
Objective 4.1– Support the expansion of access to business capital (e.g., micro loans) to support innovation, entrepreneurship, and economic equity.
Objective 4.2– Invest in programs and business opportunities that address critical challenges facing SCRC communities while providing opportunities to attract and retain talent locally.

Goal 5: Expand Affordable Housing Stock and Access
Objective 5.1– Increase access to wrap-around services and legal assistance to resolve title, heirship, land tenure, and eviction issues.
Objective 5.2– Support enrollment in and access to homebuyer programs.
Objective 5.3– Invest in efforts to improve the affordability and availability of quality housing across the region.

Goal 6: Promote Environmental Conservation, Preservation, and Access
Objective 6.1– Invest in air, water, and soil clean-up efforts that impact historically disadvantaged communities.
Objective 6.2– Preserve and expand access to the SCRC region’s natural resources to increase outdoor recreation and tourism opportunities.


Olivia Collier - (919) 218-3623     -


State Economic and Infrastructure Development (SEID) Grant Program

The Southeast Crescent Regional Commission (SCRC) published a Notice of Funding Availability (NOFA) to solicit applications for grants under the FY 2023 State Economic Development and Infrastructure (SEID) grant program. This NOFA provides a general overview of the SEID grant program and outlines specific requirements needed to complete the application process. Access to the application and additional information can be found on  

For more information please visit:

The 69 NC SCRC counties are served by eleven Local Development Districts (LDDs), also called Regional Councils in North Carolina. Region Councils were established in 1969 under G.S. 143-341 and they serve as the lead regional organizations.

The North Carolina SCRC Program works closely with the LDDs to develop projects that are consistent with the SCRC Authorizing Legislation and guidelines. Each LDD is governed by a Board of Directors comprised of local government representatives. The LDDs are an active and critical part of the SCRC partnership. The North Carolina SCRC Program Manager meets with the LDDs regularly to discuss regional issues and to gauge the need for SCRC resources.

The LDDs are:

*The Southeastern Economic Development Commission is an Economic Development District designated by the U.S. Economic Development Administration. It serves the same counties as the Cape Fear Council of Governments, Lumber River Council of Governments, and the Mid-Carolina Council of Governments.