March 18, 2016

Contact: Kim Genardo Phone: (919) 814-4610

Main Street Champions Honored

Goldsboro, N.C.--. Main Street Champions will be recognized for their commitment to downtown improvements and strong communities this morning during an awards breakfast in Goldsboro. Thirty-seven individuals will receive honors for their contributions in 2015. This year's group of Main Street Champions brings the total number to 603 since Champions were first named in 1980 as part of N.C. Main Street's 20thanniversary celebration.

Commerce Secretary John E. Skvarla, III will attend the *Breakfast with Main Street Champions Ceremony* at Goldsboro's Paramount Theatre to personally thank each recipient.

"Main Street Champions recognize the possibilities in their downtowns and strive to make those possibilities a reality," said Commerce Secretary Skvarla. "N.C. Main Street Champions represent some of our communities most valued leaders."

"This year's Champions represent Main Street board members and volunteers, nonprofit leaders, downtown developers and small business owners, elected officials, city employees, and boy scouts," said Liz Parham, director of the N.C. Main Street & Rural Planning Center.
"These individuals give 110% to their community and then ask; what's next."

Congratulations to the 2015 N.C. Main Street Champions

Vince Hill and Neil Brock. Belmont Main Street

Mike Domokur, Heart of Brevard, Inc.

Curtis and Alice Jones, City of Clayton & Clayton Downtown Development Association

Marshall Thornton and Michael Thornton, Clinton Main Street Program

Concord Rotary Club Board and Members, Concord Downtown Development Corporation

Barry Carter, Eden Downtown Development, Inc.

Albemarle Bank – Edenton Advisory Board, Destination Downtown Edenton

Don Hudson and Will Shover, Town of Elkin Main Street Advisory Board

Cecil and Jason Geer, Forest City Main Street

Friends of the Museums of Fuquay-Varina Board of Directors, Fuquay-Varina Downtown

Pam Cash, Garner Revitalization Association

The Honorable Al King, City of Goldsboro and Downtown Goldsboro Development Corporation

Patty Adamic, Historic Downtown Hendersonville

Julie Stamper-Phelps, Historic Hertford, Inc.

Tony and Margaret Jackson, The Jackson Group, Inc., Hickory Downtown Development Association

John William Ellis, Pride of Kinston, Inc.

City of Lenoir Building and Maintenance Division, City of Lenoir Main Street Program Davidson County Commissioners, Uptown Lexington, Inc.

Wayne Hoyle, Downtown Development Association of Lincolnton, Inc.

Nancy Spencer, Marion Business Association

Charlotte Eidson, City of Morganton

Gene Rees, Mount Airy Downtown Inc.

Jerry Hodge, Downtown Newton Development Association

Larry Spencer, Downtown North Wilkesboro Partnership, Inc.

Titus Workman, Main Street Roanoke Rapids

David Joyner, Main Street Rocky Mount

Bruce Wrenn, Roxboro Development Group

Kitty McCammon, Rutherford Town Revitalization

Lynn Raker, Downtown Salisbury Inc.

David Montgomery, Downtown Sanford, Inc.

Austin McInnis and Boy Scout Troop 100, Uptown Shelby Association, Inc.

Todd Johnson, Downtown Smithfield Development Corporation

David Niven, Spruce Pine Main Street

Jeff Archer, Downtown Statesville Development Corporation

James Warren, Wake Forest Downtown, Inc.

Chief Bill Hollingsed, Downtown Waynesville Association

Culbreth Spivey, Wilson Downtown Development Corporation